The Tax Collector's Office is responsible for the billing and collection of taxes.

Tax Bills

Tax bills are mailed out once a year, normally in July.  This will be the only tax bill you will receive until the next billing. The tax bill will have four (4) payment stubs that need to be returned with each quarterly payment.

Taxpayers are urged to read all of the information contained on the front and back of their tax bills.  Please note that according to New Jersey State Law, failure to receive a tax bill does not exempt a property owner from payment of taxes, or the interest due on the delinquent taxes.  Interest cannot be waived.


New Home Owners

Please contact the Tax Collector regarding payment of property taxes.  It can be several months before our office is notified of a new homeowner.


Property Tax Bill Due Dates

Property tax payments are due on the First (1st) of February, May, August and November. There is a ten (10) day grace period each quarter, up to and including the 10th. Should the 10th fall on a weekend or a holiday, payments will be accepted the next business day without interest. The tax payment must be received within the designated grace period. If a payment is received after the grace period, interest is retroactive to the original due date. The State of New Jersey does not permit postmarks as proof of payment. Interest cannot be waived. For the correct amount due, please contact our office at 201-330-2021 Ext. 1.


Change of Mailing Address

Address changes must be submitted in writing by the property owner (email, fax, or USPS).


Change of Ownership

Tax bills should be given to the new owner or his paying agent, upon closing. 



If you are receiving a Senior Citizen or Disabled Individual, $250.00 property tax deduction, you will receive by February of each year a post annual tax year statement (PD5).  The completed statement must be returned to the Tax Collector's office by March 1st or the deduction will be removed.


Tax Sale

Each year, there is a Tax Sale for unpaid taxes and other municipal charges from the previous year.  A list is published in the newspaper for four (4) weeks preceding the sale and the cost of advertising is added to the delinquent amount owed.  The amounts due, however, may be paid up to the day before the sale in the form of a certified check or money order.  If the delinquent accounts are not cleared and the property goes into the sale, a lien is placed against the property.  If an outside buyer picks up the lien, they must hold it for two years from the date of sale before starting foreclosure proceedings.


Online Payments

There is a 3.50% fee if your payment is made using a credit or debit card and a flat fee of $2.95 for payments made using a bank account. 

Pay Online